You’re being so tough to me, like a leather jacket.

Hooray for My home and native land .

Cool runnings was one of my favourite movies of 1993, but I think it was the Jamaican culture, not the bob sled culture that interested me. C’mon, I was 12. And looking at the most popular movies of 1993, I realize this must have been the year Mom & Dad started letting me go to the movies by myself. I saw 17 of the following 30. If anyone can guess all 17 correctly (besides my grade 7/8 best friends Andrea Oddie and Emily Twigg who were most likely sitting next to me in the theatre for most of ’em), you’ll win a stuffmaker something. Photograph or something crafty. Maybe some 1993 Movie-inspired magnets.

Most Popular 1993 Movies

[ Box Art ]
1. Jurassic Park
2. Mrs. Doubtfire
3. The Fugitive
4. The Firm
5. Sleepless in Seattle
6. Indecent Proposal
7. In the Line of Fire
8. The Pelican Brief
9. Schindler’s List
10. Cliffhanger
11. Free Willy
12. Philadelphia
13. Groundhog Day
14. Grumpy Old Men
15. Cool Runnings
16. Rising Sun
17. Dave
18. Beethoven’s 2nd
19. Demolition Man
20. Sister Act 2: Back in the Habit
21. Tombstone
22. The Three Musketeers
23. Rookie of the Year
24. Dennis the Menace
25. The Last Action Hero
26. Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas
27. Sommersby
28. Wayne’s World 2
29. Malice
30. Addams Family Values

I’ll give you one: When Andrea and I went to see #12, we were the only audience members under 30 in the Aron Theatre. We felt very grown-up. We even got some of those sickly sugary flavored ‘Cappuccinos’ at Becker’s after the movie, waiting for my dad’s yellow golf to pick us up.

Beckers Milk in Havelock?
Found this on a Wearing-My-Maple-Leaf-On-My-Sleeve Drool-worthy site:

Title Credit: Hawksley Workman, No Sissies

8 comments
  1. Scott said:

    Hello, I will say these 17 movies that you may of seen at the Aron Theatre in 1993.
    I also grew up watching movies here.

    1. Jurassic Park
    2. Mrs. Doubtfire
    5. Sleepless in Seattle
    8. The Pelican Brief
    9. Schindler’s List
    10. Cliffhanger
    12. Philadelphia
    13. Groundhog Day
    14. Grumpy Old Men
    15. Cool Runnings
    19. Demolition Man
    21. Tombstone
    24. Dennis the Menace
    25. The Last Action Hero
    26. Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas
    28. Wayne’s World 2
    30. Addams Family Values

  2. pretttty pretttttaaaa prettttaaaaa close Scott.
    12 correct, and so far the closest guess.

  3. Scott said:

    which 5 are wrong and I will nail it!

  4. Matthew Widdowson said:

    Not to be too picky, but if you had Cappuccinos at that Beckers, you and Andrea walked about 2 hours from the Aron Cinema. 😛

  5. really?! where is it? i thought it looked like havelock, but apparently not.
    sadly, the c’town beckers is not to be found on the interweb.

  6. Scott said:

    It also looked like the Havelock Becker’s to me as well.
    The Campbellford Becker’s was converted to a Mac’s Milk after Mac’s bought out the Becker’s stores.
    It was also one of my favourite places as well, including, playing video games there, during my newspaper route.

  7. Scott said:

    p.s. Mac’s stores bought Becker’s in 1996.

Leave a Reply

