Too bad, Rochester

If only Rochester landlords were this forward thinking…

Landlords Turn to Artists to Fill Empty Commercial Spaces – NYTimes.com.

Here is the Craigslist ad I posted at the beginning of September:

“Difficulty renting your storefront? Call me to help — for free!
Rochester, NY, downtown/NOTA, etc
Hello realtors and building owners,

Are you having trouble filling your rental space? Does it have a street facing storefront? You need to give it some curb appeal!

I am a student and artist who makes photographs of vintage, historic, interesting architecture and social landscapes.
I am available to cover your rental space walls with professionally framed photography while the property waits for a new tenant. For no charge. Yes, I said no charge.

My only request would be to hold a small opening reception in the space and have it open to the public for 5 days. I would sit in the space and show it off to anyone interested, in the art or the square footage.

I could install the work anytime after November 1st.”

I received no responses. None.

Maybe if I was tacky Kenny Scharf…

Leave a Reply

