Hop on the bus, Gus, you don’t need to discuss much…

Thinking about breakups and breakoffs and the saddest of the newly or barely dating…the trail off.

Mostly because this song came on my headphones while sitting on the bus, heading home from a visit to a city where I have a handful of former boyfriends; one that ended in some pretty fierce heart stomping (never trust a boy who puts a lot of Jens Lekman on mixtapes for you), and a few others that ended just… because … of time and distance and other impossibilities difficulties.

So, the Paul Simon brought me back to a discussion with a friend about dating/ending dating etiquette. As somone who is much better at fading out, trailing off, or disappearing, I tried really hard to listen to my friend’s words of Paul Simon-inspired wisdom. Don’t be passive. Don’t string someone along because breaking things off makes you feel bad. Say what you mean, mean what you say. All that junk that I probably should already know, getting close to my fourth decade in the world.

And now, post-Paul-Simon-discussion, another fade off has come and gone, and I dealt with it, maybe not as well as I should have. But it was better. Not a complete slip out the back, Jack. More of a drop off the key, Lee. Or maybe a hop on the bus, Gus. Okay, okay, I’ll stop.

 

Title credit: Paul SImon, 50 Way to Leave Your Lover

Leave a Reply

