[everythinghappensatonce] updated

Having taken a social networking hiatus, and getting my news the old fashioned way (by visiting NYT directly and consuming my 10 free monthly articles in a manner of minutes), I am starting a “things I would have posted on ubiquitous SN site” list, with appropriate 140 character marginalia.

>>David Rakoff, Humorist and Essayist, Dies at 47 – NYTimes.com.

So occasionally, I’ll need that little bit of spice. And what’s more spicy than being Canadian? I ask you.”

David Rakoff was an insanely funny, dry, awesome writer. He passed away last night. I will miss him. Looking at the number of tributes that have gone up since I started this post, so will many many others.

>> Noah has a new exhibition up and it is pretty awesome. It makes me think of…
Damian Moppett and the dancing record from Size Small (it took me 17 days to remember this reference). Pop culture references aside, most importantly, Noah’s work just keeps getting more interesting.

>> Fingertips is the BEST at finding free and legal infectious summer songs about listening to music. Check this one by Wildlife Control: Analog or Digital

“This one hardly needs any annotation—it’s got a head-bopping one-note bass line, an infectious melody, is three minutes long, and is about listening to records (a subject that forms its own important splinter group in the kingdom of power pop).”

>> … [more as things pop into my head and out through my fingertips]

Title credit: This Euan MacDonald piece, seen at NGC, years ago…

Have you ever searched a nonspecific phrase in g-images? This is a particularly good one.

Leave a Reply

